Sunday, July 17, 2011

I made a huge mistake

Grace trying out some kangaroo ears at the Cleveland Zoo.
If you are here looking for pictures of Grace and updates on our lives, you will probably not see any for a while. I made a huge mistake. In an effort to "clean house" and close out everything associated with my old job as I transition to the new one, I closed a Google account. I had been using that account as my sign-in for Blogger. Before I closed the account I established a new one and changed my Blogger login to that account. BUT.....and here is the mistake.....I didn't know Blogger stores all the photos on the blog in a Picasa account associated with Google. When I closed the Google account I lost all the photos in this blog. 609 entires and probably thousands of photos. They are not really "lost". I have everything backed up on disk and all the 2011 photos are stored in my computer. They are just lost to the blog. The Google account is not recoverable. I checked and there are a lot of people out there who did the same thing and lost it all too. The only thing I can do is go back to each entry and reload the photos ONE BY ONE. I just can't imagine the enormity of doing that and I am not sure if I should. At the end of every year, I had a book printed for that year of the blog (thank goodness I did that!). I am at the point right now of trying to decide if I am going to close the blog or go back and upload just the photos for the 7 months of 2011. Even that seems overwhelming. My goal would be to do that so I can have the 2011 book made and then in January 2012 maybe close this blog permanently.

Maybe I'll start a new one then. Who knows? Right now I just want to cry.

5 comments:

The Riggs Family said...

So sorry to hear this! I wish there was something I could do to help. I had no idea that happened when you switched accounts.

Lynn said...

Thanks, Melody. It is pretty devastating right now. At least I know about it so if I do continue my blog, I won't make the same mistake again. Google does warn you that you will lose all your content. I just didn't know my blog photos were saved there or I would have tried to move them or not delete the account.

Phyllis said...

How sad...Good thing I copied my favorites and put them in my picture file. Lynn, you must have been devastated. Good thing you printed and saved into books.

cathybcareers said...

Like everything in life. Maybe just go from here and upload the things you need for the next book.
I was rushing to the Geek Squad tonight; can't enjoy the day without the Blog!

Kellie said...

Any chance you can open the old account and print a book then close it? It would be a short book but better than no book and all your work redoing???